July 21st, 2014 | By | 323 Comments

Best Parties at the 2014 US Open of Surfing Where to Send it in Surf City During the World's Biggest Surf Contest

FTLF 2013 postcard

1. Follow the Light Foundation Photography Awards

What: The most prestigious award in surf photography When: When Tuesday 7/29, 7pm
Where: Shorebreak Hotel, Main Ballroom (Open to the Public)
Who: The new class of Lensmans soon to grace the spreads of every major surf media outlet.
Finalists: Ryan Craig, Woody Gooch, Seth de Roulet, Rambo Estrada, Dane Grady
Why: To witness history through the legacy of Larry “Flame” Moore

2. “Getting Classic Vol. 3” World Premier

What: Free Outdoor Screening of Van’s Newest Surf Movie
When: Friday 8/1 – 8:00p – 9:00p
Where: 5th St – Shorebreak
Who: Gudang Bros, Nathan Fletcher, Dylan Graves and team Vans keeping the froth alive
Why: You can probably snap a selfie with one of the Gudauskas brothers in attendance.


3. SURFING Magazine Party at sutra

What: A Champagne soaked evening with the wildest buncha legends in surf.
When:  Saturday 8/2 – 9pm – 2am

Where: Sutra Club -Triangle Square Costa Mesa
Who: SURFING’s Corey Wilson on the turn tables,
Why: To rub up against some good looking humans and score some product from Tavik & Sol Republic

4. Joel Tudor Duct Tape Invitational

A surf contest for the soul surfer in you.  Nose-riding, cutbacks, and all other maneuvers are scored but it is style that is the back bone of what the Duct Tape really brings to surfing.

When: 8/1-2 More Event Scheduling Here

Surf Contest Format

  • 16 man format
  • 4 man heats/ 2 days
  • Top 2 advance from each heat
  • 25 minute heats/ 40 minute ?nal
  • Judging is based on traditional longboarding with a heavy emphasis on style ala David Nuuhiwa to Nat Young


Surf Equipment

  • Must be a single ?n
  • No plugs on board (leash or side ?ns)
  • 9’2 minimum length (or 3ft. over your head)
  • 12lb. minimum weight

2014 Invitees

  • Kelia Moniz
  • Troy Mothershead
  • Justin Quintal
  • Ryan Burch
  • Alex Knost
  • Troy Elmore
  • Tyler Warren
  • Andy Nieblas
  • Harrison Roach
  • Chad Marshall
  • James Parry
  • Yuta Sezutsu
  • Devon Howard
  • Kassia Meador
  • Lucas Dirkse
  • Jared Mell



Thank you for visiting the Swell blog. Visit us on www.facebook.com/swell for more exclusive fan offers, giveaways and more.
Posted by | See more posts from | About the author