Archive for the ‘SURF’ Category

December 21st, 2010 | By | 4,024 Comments

SCHS Surf Team: Dominates in Undefeated Season, Sweeps Individual League Competition

12.21.2010-Upper Trestles, Ca-San Clemente High School Surf Team wins their 27th South Coast League title with a perfect 6-0 record.
Team Rider
The defending NSSA Champion Tritons had big booties to fill. Losing most of last year’s starters made many think this would be a rebuilding year. But the team shwacked their way to a perfect league record, and an equally impressive showing at last week’s league individuals competition.

The glassy, chest-high conditions at Upper Trestles set the stage for a route by the Tritons in their own backyard. 14 total San Clemente surfers landed in the finals of five divisions.

Coach John Dowell was fired up on the performance his team displayed, and recognized the significance of this victory in his victory speech, “ League individuals is a special event in the history of High School surfing and to have the opportunity for the kids to have there names carved on that trophy with guys like the Beschen Brothers, Gudauskas Brothers, Chris Ward, the Long Brothers, Nate Yeomans, Mike Losness, and Kolohe Andino. This is something special that they will never forget”.

During an era that many call, “the beginning of the end of American dominance in competitive surfing”, SCHS surfers remain exempt from that claim. Don’t believe us? Cruise down to T-street, and watch these gravity defying grommets blur the lines between progression and traditional competitive surfing. You may leave needing a neck brace.

The 2011 national title bout for all high schoolers will be held March 11-13 at the Huntington Beach Peir, Ca.

Swell proudly sponsors another year of Triton ripping.
Keep it up grommets!

Triton Finalists in the South Coast Individual League Championships
Boys Shortboard:
#1 Jonah Carter
#2 Jeremy Carter
#3 Braden Taylor
#4Sam Branker

Girls Shortboard:
#4 Emmy Merril
#6 Emmy Lombard

Body Board:
#2 Hunter Fredden
#5 Tommy Dolkas
#6 Chase Stratton

Boys Longboard:
#1 Eli Gillis
#3 Andy Nieblas
#5 Matt Elias-Calles

Girls Longboard:
#2 Hallie Rohr
#5 Lelani Harrision

Thank you for visiting the Swell blog. Visit us on for more exclusive fan offers, giveaways and more.
December 16th, 2010 | By | 5,424 Comments

Joel Parkinson Secures 3-peat of Vans Triple Crown Title. Jeremy Flores Wins Pipe Masters

Triple Triple Crown Winner: Joel Parkinson
12.15.2010-Ehukai (The Banzai Pipeline) Beach Park-Joel Parkinson solidifies his post injury comeback by winning his third straight Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. He tied ASP rookie of the year Owen Wright in a round 3 heat, at glassy head-high backdoor, but was eliminated on a count back. Joel needed Mick Fanning and Ace Buchan to lose the comp. He succeeded when Hawaiian Dusty Payne knocked off Mick, and Ace fell to Slater.

Parko ranked eighth in the world before his heel injury that took him out of world title contention. His drop in rank meant he had to battle though extra heats against hungry Hawaiians to defend his crown. His victory at the Reef Hawaiian Pro propelled his run at the $25,000 prize money, and secured his status as a future world title contender.

We hope Parko’s comeback victory drives Slater to pursue his eleventh title, since rivalries like “Slater vs. A.I.” keeps the 10x champ competing. Slater semi-retired the tour in 1999 after winning five titles in six years, then lost interest due to lack of progression and formidable competition in the title race. Slater still sounded unsure about his future during post-contest interview.


Jeremy Flores won the 2010 Billabong Pipe Masters over Kieren Perrow in a buzzer beater final, and the road to his first WCT victory was an equally radical Backdoor shootout. J-Flo snuck into the final by beating Slater under his priority in another nail biting semi-final. Maybe his hand-drawn A.I. tributes on his board propelled him over the champ, as only A.I. could.

Jeremy Flores' Winning Barrel

J-Flo earns $75,000 for his victory and the Gerry Lopez pipe gun trophy, and KP “The Backdoor Bandit” banked $30,000 as the runner-up. During Flores’ emotional victory speech he stated, “I dedicate this to Andy. He’s my idol. A.I. forever”.

Other news from the competition:

  • Dusty Payne re-qualifies in buzzer beater over Fanning
  • ASP announces east coast US tour stop next season
  • Brett Simpson qualifies for tour in place of Andy Irons
  • Kelly and Dane remain uncertain of future competitive plans

An other side story in the Triple Crown race unfolded when second ranked Julian Wilson was denied his chance to challenge in the Pipe Masters. He made a legit run at the prize money after placing in back to back finals at Sunset and Haleiwa. Wilson lost his chances for the crown when the ASP and HPSU (Hawaii Pro Surfers Union), prematurely selected pipe wildcards weeks before the comp. Wilson’s initial humble reactions yielded to annoyance with the ASP when he tweeted: “Trying really hard to contain my frustration towards the asp. Triple crown is what dreams are made of. Give me a crack at it!!!!!”. Well, he’ll get a shot next season with his WCT qualification. Congrats Julian!

Many thought Jamie O’Brien’s broken arm opened a slot for Wilson, but Hawaiian nepotism favored legendary lifeguard, Dave Wassel, who nearly knocked off world no.2, Jody Smith in rd.3.

However, Julian Wilson’s free-surf pipe wave still stands to win Surfline’s $25,000 prize for “The Wave of the Winter”, and earned the title of Vans Triple Crown of Surfing “Rookie of the Year”.

Check out the wave of the winter entries at Surfline, and get all the gear from the contest at SWELL. We carry everything you saw like Kelly Slater’s KS10 gear, official contest gear, pro-model surfboards, and everything you need for Pipeline.

December 15th, 2010 | By | 2,337 Comments

“I Surf Because” – Taj Burrow

Watch what drives Taj to keep boosting the standards of progressive and professional surfing. Taj is the defending champ at pipe, and Billabong’s last remaining team-rider in the event they sponsor.

Watch Burrow battle rookie of the year, Owen Wright now!

Good luck Taj!

December 15th, 2010 | By | 1,522 Comments

Tyler Warren Signs with Simple Shoes

Artwork by Tyler Warren12.14.2010– SANTA BARBARA, Calif. — Surfer, Shaper, Artist, Tyler Warren joins the Simple sneaker company as an athlete and brand advocate. His art and lifestyle caught the eye of the marketing team at Simple and they’re amped on tapping into Warren’s keg of creativity for their global branding initiatives.

Will Pennartz, Simple’s marketing manager stated: “This isn’t a typical athlete sponsorship though; we are inviting Tyler into the brand for a chance to impart some of his vision and insight onto our sneakers.”

You’ve seen Warren’s work in various surf industry publications like: The 2010 Rip Curl Pro Search event poster, Shelter Surfshop logos, The Laguna Surf Gallery, and The Surfing Heritage Museum. He also shapes a custom line of surfboards under Hobie’s label.

24 yr old Tyler currently calls Dana Point, Calif his home, but pioneers a new wave of artistic surf expression in cities like: Honolulu, Sydney, Paris, Tokyo, and all over the US. He is pumped to team up with the like-minded team at Simple.

“What initially attracted me to the Simple brand were the shoes, but then I got the chance to learn more about the passionate group of people behind these sneakers that truly care about what they’re doing,” said Tyler Warren. “I’m stoked for the chance to work with this talented group and couldn’t be more excited to one day see someone wearing shoes influenced by my artwork.”

Check out SWELL’s current selection of Simple sneakers here, and more art by Tyler Warren by clicking his art above.