49th Brooks Street Classic Surf Comp hits Laguna Beach – Aug 21-22, 2010 – Contest Results
August 23, 2010
49th Annual Brooks Street Classic

49th Annual Brooks Street Classic

The Brooks Street Classic was held this past weekend in sunny Laguna Beach with solid surf and frigid waters. Touted as the longest running locals only competition, the Brooks Classic pits the best hometown surfers against each other in friendly 4 man heats.

This iconic surf comp put on by the city of Laguna Beach with help from the whole Laguna Surf & Sport crew is one of the few “last minute” competitions of its kind. Needing a solid south swell to fall on a weekend, the Brooks Classic comes together at 6am the morning of, through word of mouth and many impromptu phone calls/texts.

This past weekend, surfers showed their knowledge of this heaving left as they dodged the mystery chop and massive boils in the 49th staging of this legendary event. With water temps around 55 degrees, the short 15 minute heats kept surfers from turning into popsicles and helped judges power through all of the 100 or so local competitors who signed-up.

Those who made it into the finals duked it out in longer 20 minute sessions and the crowds were pleased as the south swell delivered some memorable rides and boily bombers. One notable highlight was Leah Pakpour snagging the set of the day during the girls/womens finals, where she raced down the line to win both her division and the hoots and hollars from the many spectators on the beach and stairs. Past ‘CTer Jeff Booth took the overall win of the Pro/Am division and made away with the $1,000 cash prize, while Bobby Champan, Eric “Frog” Nelson, and Tristram Miller took 2nd through 4th respectively.

After nabbing 2nd in the Past two events, Steve "Ralph" Manee was stoked to finally win his division

After placing 2nd in the Past two events, Steve “Ralph” Manee was stoked to finally take the first over Mike Todd in the Sr. Mens division

Sponsors included:
City of Laguna Beach, Laguna Surf & Sport, Costa Azul, Quiksilver Boardriders Club, Volcom, Electric, Matix, Billabong, Skull Candy, Turkey, XS Energy Drinks, Screen Works, Laguna Apparel, Mozambique

Here are the Final Results 2010 49th Annual Brooks St. Classic in Loving memory of Jack Denny

Cy Chambers Award – Adam Mejia

Tom Chambers Award – Austin Silvers

1st – Dave Vanderveen (Orange)
2nd – Ted Taylor (Yellow)

1st – Ted Taylor (White)
2nd – Tobie Grierson (Yellow)
3rd – James Henry (Orange)
4th – George Vitolo (Green)
5th – Paul McMannus (Red)

1st – Travis Sampson (White)
2nd – Dave Vanderveen (Red)
3rd – Paul “Pablo” Cernich (Green)
4th – Walter Viszolay (Blue)

1st – Leah Pakpour (Red)
2nd – Taylor Pitz (Blue)
3rd – Hannah Fait (White)
4th – Brenda Joseph (Green)
5th – Lauren Hampton (Orange)

Boys 13 & under
1st – Shane Chapman (White)
2nd – Tobie Grierson (Blue)
3rd – Michael Chapman (Green)
4th – Harrison Kirkman (Red)

Jr. Men 14-17
1st – Austin Silvers (Green)
2nd – Adam Mejia (White)
3rd – Chris Williams (Blue)
4th – Derek Strombatne (Red)

Men 18-23
1st – Porter Hogan (Green)
2nd – Brad Burdick (Red)
3rd – Issac Zoller (Blue)
4th – Tyler Stanaland – (White)

Sr. Men 24-29
1st – Steve Manee (Red)
2nd – Mike Todd (White)
3rd – Clayton Snyder (Blue)
4th – Blake Pettit (Green)

Masters 30-39
1st – Hans Hagen (Blue)
2nd – Eric “Frog” Nelson (White)
3rd – Steve Hurst (Red)
4th – Tristram Miller (Green)

Sr. Masters 40-49
1st – Jason Steris (Green)
2nd – Bobby Lockhart (Red)
3rd – Sean Brown (White)
4th – Paul “Pablo” Cernich (Blue)

Grand Masters 50+
1st – Scott Holt (white)
2nd – Phil Johnson (Blue)
3rd – Doug Bunting (Red)
4th – Keith Gregg (Green)

1st – Jeff Booth (Blue) – $1,000.00
2nd – Bobby Chapman (Green) – $750.00
3rd – Eric “Frog” Nelson (Red) – $500.00
4th – Tristram Miller (White) – $250.00

pictures taken by David Vanderveen winner of the paddleboard division